Justin Verlander Selected by Kansas City Bloggers as Walter Johnson Award Winner


The Walter Johnson Award is handed out by the Baseball Bloggers Alliance to recognize the best pitchers in both leagues.

In this case, the voting bloggers of the Kansas City Chapter of the BBA agreed with FanSided writers and named Justin Verlander the best pitcher in the American League.

Jered Weaver of Los Angeles and James Shields of Tampa Bay tied for second in the voting, and others receiving votes included C.C. Sabathia, Jose Valverde and Doug Fister. Not a bad showing by the Tigers.

The final voting results will be announced October 20.

Baseball Bloggers Alliance – Kansas City Chapter

Ballpark Thinking | Twitter
Broken Bat Single | Twitter | Facebook
i70 Baseball | Twitter | Facebook
Kings of Kauffman | Twitter | Facebook
Royalscentricity | Twitter | Facebook
Royals Kingdom | Twitter | Facebook
Royals On Radio Etc. | Facebook

Michael Engel is the president of the KC Chapter of the BBA. You can stay current on all the Kings of Kauffman content and news by following us on TwitterFacebook, or by way of our RSS feed.